Dairy Goat Info Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the whole registration thing. I have a registered grade nubian doe. Can she or her offspring ever be registered as anything else? Also, could someone give a clear explanation of how each (grade, American, purebred) is classified; what the criteria is? Thanks so much!

· Registered
993 Posts
Eventually after breeding a grade doe to a certain breed buck (non grade) you can register them as American. There are upgrade scales to determine how many generations of offspring it will take. And this varies between dairy and meat goat breeds.

American means that the goat has met the criteria for meeting the standards of the breed after "X" amount of generations. Pure means that the goat has never been bred to American, just strictly pure lines. Hope this helps.

· Registered
149 Posts
It sounds like what you have may be a "Recorded Grade,".......or it may be a 50% or 75% grade. If the offspring are continually bred to either an American or Purebred Nubian, then after a certain number of generations, the offspring can be registered as American. The future generatoins from that animal can never be registered as purebred. A purebred means that every line of the pedigree traces back to a purebred Nubian.

I do not remember how many generations in takes to change from Grade to American............it has been many years since I had animals that were 50% and 75%. I am sure that someone else on here can help us out.

· Registered
1,004 Posts