Evaluating Dairy Kids

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Beverrlly, Nov 16, 2007.

1. Beverrlly

Beverrlly New Member

I posted this on HT but not everyone here is members there so here goes:
    I'm just learning how to find good adult dairy goats, but what do I look for in 2 month old kids? I'm looking at a couple of different kids right now for my own Christmas presents and I want to pick a good one! Any suggestions?

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

First in my list is do they do cae prevention is the herd cl free do they do worm control /when and how cocci prevention . Then I look for what their dams and sires are like. and of course recommendations from people I trust

3. whimmididdle

whimmididdle Guest

At 2 months old.......um, yea, I would be looking at sire and dam mostly.........health of the little fellers maybe next, at that age, I would be looking at birth defects I guess......like parrot mouth, unusually loose leg joints, severely crooked legs, badly ruptured belly button, any feature that didn't meet that breeds standard, like floppy ears on an alpine or something like that.

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member