Doe with loose stools for a month!

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by wardarden, Aug 14, 2008.

1. wardarden

wardarden New Member

sorry this is a bit long but I wanted to give all of the info I could think of!

Hi my name is Arden and this is my first time to post here, but I have a problem that I have been unable to solve. I have a 2 year old FF Oberhasli doe (ELSA) who has had loose stools for a month now.
    Here is the history… 2nd week in July, we took her to Nationals in Louisville to show, she was doing great. Some of my goats, (only took 4), including her, started to get snotty noses around Wednesday or Thursday at the Nat’l. About this same time she developed loose/clumpy stools. At this point I was not really concerned about the loose stools as you see many goats at the shows with clumped poop. I started with a dose of Teramycin powder mixed in their water for two days (which they drank) but didn’t like that because I didn’t know how much each one was getting. When we got home I gave her a couple of days of Dimethox 12.5% from Hoegger because I saw that it also treated pneumonia symptoms. At this point the respiratory symptoms still persisted and was catching on to other goats who stayed home so I called the vet about the snotty noses and picked up some Nuflor. She received a total three doses of Nuflor given every other day.