Compressed Alfalfa from Feed store or pellets? or 2007 planted harvest?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by tjgoatgirl, May 19, 2008.

1. tjgoatgirl

tjgoatgirl New Member

Hi All......this is my first time posting anything.........so bear with me here PLEASE.........My question is regarding Alfalfa.....I feed free choice horse quality grass hay and have been supplementing my babies and bred does with compressed alfalfa (it weighs like 50 lbs but is about a 2 foot square tightly bound really green bale).

The reason is because this is all the feed stores have and I've not encountered much alfalfa from farmers around here either. I did just find a guy who says they're getting ready to cut/bale straight alfalfa from afield planted in 2007...........So it would be first cutting of a relatively new hayfield......I live in Missouri, and he is wanting 7.50 a bale.............the compressed stuff is 9.99 and looks artificial (like Easter Egg Grass or something!) but then I've also been reading about alfalfa pellets?

My main questions here are:
    1. Is alfalfa planted in 2007 too new or something? Why did the farmer feel the need to mention this to me? or is it really too new to feed something he just cut like a week ago?

2. Has anyone tried the compressed hay? and is there any known dangers or bad nutritional details to it? I know there's some kind of problem with a certain kind of alfalfa ...chafed or something?

3. Can all the does.........old, young, dry, open, one-horned, fat and thin, Alpine to Nigerian and the wether all just have some alfalfa supplemented in with the regular grass hay?

They all desperately seek the alfalfa compressed-type in the baby/bred doe stall, and I wondered if it would hurt to give them all a couple flakes a day?