Colostrum and Milk out of First Freshners

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Daniel Babcock, Dec 30, 2008.

1. Daniel Babcock

Daniel Babcock Member

I have two questions relative to the upcoming kidding season.

1- In February I will be driving up to North Western Washington to pick up some fantastic LaMancha kids. I have been researching their lines for the the last 4 months and cant tell you how excited I am to add them as foundation stock to my herd! These kids will be bottle babies. Whereas I do not have any goats freshening till March 2and, I am wondering what my options are, for keeping the kids milk fed. Obviously the best would be to find goatmilk. However I do not know how feasible this is whereas there are no dairy goat owners within close proximity to me.

2- All of my bred does are first fresheners. I understand that the does that give the best colostrum are the older does. Will my ff does have en ought colostrum for me to milk out and feed to their kids. I have one doe whose mother has kidded in successive years 3, 4, 5, 4 and 5 kids.

Those of you who sell bottle babies, what do you teach your buyers about feedig the kids? To those buyers without a goat in milk what do they do? (The answers to this question will help me determine if I will sell bottle babies, as well as what to do with the ones I am buying)

Thanks so much for all of your help!

2. stacy adams

stacy adams New Member

The milk question is easy, I use whole cow milk from the grocers if I need to and recommend it to anyone purchasing a kid from me that doesn't have access to GM. I am very adamant about purchasers not using replacers as I've known too many people who have lost kids this way.