clipper blades

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Halo-M Nubians, Mar 24, 2008.

1. Halo-M Nubians

Halo-M Nubians New Member

I'm getting ready to send my blades off for sharpening. I was just going to mail them to the place listed in Jeffers catalog. I've never done it before, so if there's a better way-please tell me :biggrin

2. Who does Jeffers have in their catalog? If you look around alot of time you can find people local that sharpen blades. I sharpen all my own blades and have for years.

The best people really are ones that shear sheep since you will sharpen anywhere in the neighborhood of over a 1000 combs a year. If you have hair blades then look for a farm that shows beef cattle. Most people that show big time do all their own sharpening since you can get a wheel for just about 60 bucks.

Ken in MO

3. Sondra

Sondra New Member

4. Halo-M Nubians

Halo-M Nubians New Member

I'll have to check out premier and check in spokane. Maybe I can find someone locally. Jeffers list two folk, the Blade Dr and someone named Larry G. Otts.

5. Jennie

Jennie Guest

I would check out Feed and Farm in CDA. They have a guy that I believe is local that runs it out of their store. My dad has always gone to them.

6. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

I am soooo bad... I just buy new ones. :blush I never think to send them off and before I know it I need a new blade. Needless to say, I have a HUGE collection of dull blades!

Sara

7. Tim Pruitt

Tim Pruitt New Member

Well, I just had a bunch of blades sharpened by a local guy. Cost was $108! He picks up and delivers!

8. baileybunch

baileybunch New Member

I have two questions:
    Can I have the contact information for Premier (for sharpening)?

We do not show but I like to clip the goats for the summer and we are participating in a Linear Appraisal in May. Last year I used the #4F blades for my girls' bodies. It worked out well as I didn't have to shave legs or heads.