Cleaning the cheese cloth / sack ?

Discussion in 'Cheese & Dairy' started by Amanda Lee, Sep 5, 2008.

1. Amanda Lee

Amanda Lee Member

Is there any special way to clean your cheese cloth or muslin after each use. I am a newbie at this and love the fresh cheese. I have been using the 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinager to a gallon milk ( heated to 180) recipe.

I seperate the curds with a muslin cloth. I have been washing it after us with hot water and a tiny amount of All free & clear plus a splash of white vinager. Then rinse with clean cool water and line dry.

Is this all right? or is there another way better? Thanks

2. Leo

Leo New Member

Hi,
    I guess that sounds good, I haven't washed with vinegar, but I assume it adds some cleaning power to the All. I just put it on the sanitary cycle, hot water w/ bleach. Or boiling is good too, if it gets really into the cloth.
    Megan

3. homeacremom

homeacremom New Member

I rinse under running cold water first. Then with hot water really rubbing to get off visible particles. After that it goes into an appropriate wash load with my homemade non-toxic soap and oxyclean. Before use all my cheesecloths- new or used- get boiled and the boiling water used to sterilize the rest of the cheese stuff.

4. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Guest

I wash mine right away in the kitchen sink with Dawn with bleach alternative, rinse well in hot water with a bit of bleach, hang to dry and boil with cheese stuff prior to making cheese.

Christy

5. Amanda Lee

Amanda Lee Member

Thanks for all replies.
    I have not been boiling it before making cheese. I was given the recipe by my milk seller. I had never made cheese before until this fresh milk/non aged cheese recipe.
    :/
    I did not know to boil the muslin, so please don't fuss at me. I promise I will boil my muslin cloth from now on.
    After the muslin dries I fold it and store in a zip lock bag. It is always bone dry before I store it.
    I am glad I asked.

6. Rose