CL ??

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Jo~*, Nov 23, 2007.

1. Jo~*

Jo~* New Member

Just how big of a deal is CL? The Saanan that I want has a small lump on her shoulder/ neck.
    And a couple of the other does in with her have dried up spots where abscesses were by the jaw line.
    The lady told me that just recently a couple of her goats came up with CL and she had them isolated. Remember I am a real newbie with goats.
    I really like her goats so I hope this isn't to big of a deal How much is it to have a goat tested for CL and if you only have 2 goats can you get rid of it? :help
    Thanks.

2. ecftoggs

ecftoggs New Member

Jo,
    If these are your first goats, I would steer clear. If the abcess were to rupture anywhere in your barn, the CL organism could be there for a very long time. You are also going to be on a steep enough learning curve on how to manage your goats without having to spend time lancing and cleaning out the abcesses, in order to get rid of it. Which is not all the successful.
    Tim

3. old dominion

old dominion New Member

Run from that goat as fast as you can. Your first priority must always be herd health. We have one mantra here "If you can't get rid of it don't mess with it, and if you can choose if you want to deal with it". You can not get rid of CL.

CL is a big deal. Don't let anyone tell you differently. It not only effects the goat, but your reputation in the goat industry. We all started with a few goats you never know where this journey will take you.

Jolene

4. Cotton Eyed Does

Cotton Eyed Does New Member

Do not get this goat Jo. Wait and find something from a clean herd. If you get that CL germ in your soil or in your barn you are in trouble. Also, if you walked in her pastures and around her goats, wash your shoes. You can transmit stuff to your own place just by picking up dirt from her place and transferring it to your pasture.

5. Cotton Eyed Does