caustic oven soap

Discussion in 'Soap Making' started by goat girl, Dec 11, 2007.

1. goat girl

goat girl New Member

:help

I am new to soap making and have been doing the "walmart" recipe. A friend on this board told me to pour my soaps into my molds, and then place them in a warm oven for at least 2 hours to speed up curing.She says when she takes it out and it cools and is cut, it is ready the next day. I have tried this several times with another recipe and the walmart recipe but...
    The top of my soap gets crusty---it goes to gel stage then crusts up--only on the top. If I remove it before the crusting happens it is still caustic. If I give it several hours in the oven---temp btwn 150-180 degrees it still is caustic. However, if I make the exact same recipe, put it in a big pot, put it in the oven at 180 degrees and stir about every 20 minutes it processes fine---takes about 1-2 hours. Goes through the stages including applesauce and mashed potatoes. However, it is very tricky for me to get all the soap then in the molds without air bubbles before it turns too hard. So, I would love to know if there is another way to do it.
    Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
    the Goat Girl---(Christine)

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

are u putting it on the bottom rack in the oven?? top rack may be too hot on the top and is causing the crust

3. goat girl

goat girl New Member

It is on the second from the bottom rack---maybe I could cover the soap while baking? what do you all think?

4. Sondra

Sondra New Member

what molds are you using?
    Am just asking you questions that might help out others to answer you better than I can don't think you should cover it tho.

5. goat girl

goat girl New Member