Calves/steer with Goats

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Josie, Aug 10, 2008.

1. Josie

Josie New Member

I've never kept them together, but since i have a TON of extra hay this year I was thinking about buying either a couple weanling calves or a yearling. I have a 5 acre pasture my two bucks share, how would they do together?

Would they be okay with the bucks?

There's tons of pasture space, and two separate shelters, so they wouldn't be crowded.

But since I've never done this before I'm asking... :p

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

as long as you get a young one you shouldn't have a problem I raised a 2 wk old up with the goats and will be doing more.

3. Ravens Haven

Ravens Haven New Member

Yep as long as they get used to one another. I have a 8 month old bull calf, a 2 year old steer, a 2 year old cow, and should have 3 babies before long in with my 7 year old Lamancha buck and they get along fine. The 8 month old tries to challenge the buck sometimes but they work it out and go about their business.

Autumn

4. Cotton Eyed Does

Cotton Eyed Does New Member

The only problem is the poop. They will get in the goat shed and leave gooshy cow patties. Living with bucks wouldn't be as bad as the dairy girls. Those cow patties can be a source of filth for the dairy girls which in turn could cause mastitis. I had 2 calves in the pasture with my dairy girls and I didn't like the mess in their shed. After that the calves had their own pasture and shed.

5. laughter777

laughter777 New Member