breeds for my area

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by chewie, Jul 27, 2008.

1. chewie

chewie New Member

i am very new to goats, and here. i have 3 breeds, 12 goats total. these first girls are my trial-goats, to see if i really liked this, and yup, i do. we get very cold winters and some very hot summers. i notice my ober doe is having more issues with heat than any others. seems the nub's are getting along the best in any weather. my hubby would like to try an alpine sometime, but i am not sure. the ober is breathing hard, not quite panting, and its not even hit 100 yet, which it will. i worry about her.

is there a breed that is better for my area/weather?

2. Feral Nature

Feral Nature Active Member

Hi Chris, welcome :lol

I'm in Texas so I'm not the right one to answer your question, someone will come along soon and help.

3. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

I'm not far from you being in Minnesota. Nubians and LaManchas thrive here. :)

Sara

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Welcome to the forum! In about 5 months you will be telling us how your Nubians are freezing in your cold! :) I shave my goats so they are cooler in our hot weather. Vicki

5. Carolyn

Carolyn New Member

I am in NW North Dakota and have Nubians and Mini Nubians--everyone does just fine. In the past, I have have various breeds and cross breeds--everyone did fine. Carolyn

6. chewie

chewie New Member

the old nubian i had this winter didn't seem fazed at all, no matter the weather. i will get out the clippers and see if katie the ober does better. thanks.
    -cm

7. I have Nubians and Pygmys. My nubians are clipped because of showing. It gets in the 80-90s here. I give the girls fresh water a few times through out the day and they are fine. The pygmys are to. They breath harder then usual when its hot and humid but they are all fine. :)

8. Tracy in Idaho

Tracy in Idaho Member