Breeds and taste of milk difference / similarities?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by shawhee, Jul 12, 2008.

1. shawhee

shawhee Member

Let me preface this - Mods - if this is the incorrect forum please feel free to move.

Ok, obviously I am new to goats. I have a friend that raises Nubs and he has a few alpines in the herd. I have drank his milk and I LOVE it. I have recently purchased two Alps and two LM's (with friends help) - they are all dry. I can use stud service of his Nub buck. But I have a question for you on the taste difference according to breed. I have been told "taste the milk" and you will decide what you like, as each breed can taste a little different. Have you found that to me true? Here is my thinking - should I breed to his Nubian or should I look for a LM or Alp buck? * As we may be moving soon and I might miss breeding season here in Texas. Can any of you that have different breeds tell a difference, please describe if you can the differences, as that may help me make a determination?

Thank you,
    Shawna

2. mill-valley

mill-valley New Member

I've had milk from Nubians and Alpines...I could tell no difference. I think it depends somewhat on the diet and individual goat though. I've never had a goat with bad-tasting milk. I don't even honestly remember that the Nubian's milk tasted creamier than the Alpines. Personally, I don't think there's a whole lot of difference.

3. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

I also don't think there is much difference. Maybe on your tongue you can feel the higher butterfat of boer or ND. At my farm when it's about amounts of milk, I don't feed for butterfat so I don't think my girls have as much fat as they would elsewhere. I know Tracy's Alpines and her Saanen doe have butterfats as high as alot of tested Nubians.

Taste is mostly about what the animal is fed, it's overall health and hugly how you milk the doe and handle the milk.