Bottle Feeding- Nipples

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by KozaGirl, Feb 18, 2011.

1. KozaGirl

KozaGirl New Member

I know this is horrible, but I am still very new at this and learning LOTS day by day!! We had regular human bottles on hand when our new babies came home with us this past Monday, so that is what we used for one day. I picked up a couple of the black lamb/goat nipples the next day, and we put those over a soda bottle. Today I picked up a couple of Pritchards and I am disgusted- not sure if at the nipples, or at myself!! We switched from the human nipples because they seemed to slip out of their mouth a lot. Then the black ones just seemed too big for their mouth, which is why I bought the Pritchards today. BUT THEY LEAK EVERYWHERE!!! If I can get my DH (6'6" 300 lbs) to screw the caps down really tight, they won't leak around the cap, but then still leak around the nipple, under the rim of the plastic thingie... both nipples do the exact same thing. I am frustrated with having to switch around on them, and I am tired of smelling like spoiled milk at the end of every day!!! Can someone please shed some light on this for me? (the babies are nubians and were born on this past Sunday)

2. Caprine Beings

Caprine Beings New Member

I have had extremely good luck using lambar nipples. They are grey and pop onto a pop bottle as well. I put a hole in the base of the pop bottle nipples to allow for air. When they are transitioned to the lambar it doesn't take long and they are eating away.
    Tam

3. Rockinddtoggs

Rockinddtoggs New Member

I agree with Tammy. We may start with the first feeding being from the human baby bottles then move to the lamb bar nipples. Much easier to use than the black nipples to put on the soda bottles. Good luck!