bloody heat

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Dana, Aug 18, 2010.

1. Dana

Dana New Member

My PB Nubian doe that I bought Mar 09 and didn't get bred last fall, is finally in heat and in with the PB Nubian buck that couldn't do the job last year. (He was just too small) It was an instant breeding!! My only question is she had blood streaked with her mucus. I figured it was nothing to worry about but my 10 year old son asked why. I told him I'd post it on here for us to find out.

Is she just having an extreme heat or is this a female goat problem? The blood was before she was with the buck.

2. Caprine Beings

Caprine Beings New Member

I am no expert here but any blood coming from the vaginal area when not kidding or flushing after kidding does not sound like a normal thing.
    Like I said though I am no expert and hopefully one of the more experienced goat folks can help.
    Tam

3. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Sorry I have never seen this before. Is this the first time she has been bred? If she is a virgin doe than perhaps she had part of her hymen intact...do goats have hymens like humans? So much of what might make logical sense to us doesn't translate into our goats strange anatomy! Now if this doe has kidded before, than perhaps it's as simple as old scar tissue from a previously ripped cervix.....or a small cyst?