artifical insemination?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by goatnewbie, Jul 7, 2008.

1. goatnewbie

goatnewbie New Member

I am new to goats and have 3 Apline baby does that I would like to breed late this fall. At this time I do not have a separate building to house a buck and actually do not want to spend the extra money at this time as I would like to install a little milkhouse in my goat barn. I am not against having my does bred naturally but the thought of taking them to someone else's place and possibly bringing something back to my goats scares me. So I have been contemplating the possibility of artificial insemination? Any information out there or sources? I have no idea where to start and where to look? Thank you for information you can shed on the subject.
    Denise Long
    Longview Farm

2. Odeon

Odeon New Member

Hi Denise,

There is a lot of useful websites that explain AI, as well as videos that you can purchase to learn how. I stronly recommending having a breeder who is successful at AI to train you, but if you have a basic understanding of anatomy, you should be ok.

I would like to say, that in my opinion, nothing beats having access to a live buck. Don't get me wrong, and as AI Committee Chair I should be encouraging AI (and I do!) BUT.. NOT every doe is a good AI candidate. I have had some does who NEVER settle AI, others get pregant just walking past the tank! (ok, not really). There are other things that can cause a doe not to settle, poor quality semen, straws that are non-viable, bad timing, improper thawing techniques, etc.

You will be looking at some costs. A complete AI kit will be in the $150 range, you can get "basics" cheaper. The MUST haves is a gun, sheaths,light source, speculums, straw cutter and lubricant. You also need a thaw jar. You can buy fancy ones for $45-$50m or go to a thrift store and get a thermos (like from a child's lunch box).. Mine has SIMBA on it (from the Lion King... seriously!)