Anyone have experience with "milking through"?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by NWgoats, Oct 22, 2008.

1. NWgoats

NWgoats New Member

I have heard about continuing to milk a doe through without re-breeding. By that I mean, breeding one season and milking clear through the next breeding season so that you only breed every 2 years instead of yearly. Any thoughts or information pertaining to this?

2. Tricia

Tricia New Member

Hi Michele -- I've been doing this for the last seven years -- I have one family line that does just wonderfully on 22-month lactations, very flat lactation curves. I have a 2-1/2 yo FF who is still milking 9-10# on her 18th month. My second family line does fairly well but we've had some issues with false pregnancies. Be persistent through winter milking, particularly don't get discouraged by production dips during estrous. My milk is tested monthly by the state, no substantial quality changes in terms of SCC and bacterial plate counts. Solids and fats rise but drop back in the spring.

3. Rose

Rose New Member

I think much depends on the individual doe or families of goats. Some do, some don't.

We have an Alpine who kidded in February of 2007. She's still making 1/2 a gallon per day, which is what we need.

We are breeding her this fall.

4. Karen Bailey

Karen Bailey New Member

And I would add this: Keep milking 2 times per day at the same schedule, even if production drops pretty low. If the will to milk an extended lactation is there, they will eventually come back up. But it is true that some individuals just won't continue, and really do better on a yearly breeding schedule. I both select for and manage for extended lactations. Winter milk from a doe doing an extended lactation is the best milk there is for drinking and cheesemaking.

5. Sondra

Sondra New Member