Alfalfa Pellets

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Spicer Creek Goats, Dec 17, 2007.

1. Spicer Creek Goats

Spicer Creek Goats New Member

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting. I sure appreciate everyones knowledge on here. I have a question....I have a nubian doe that is due the end of January. I want to start giving her alfalfa pellets, as our hay is not the best and I'm worried she might not get enough calcium. I know anytime you change their feed you have to do it slowly, but would that be the same for alfalfa pellets? Right now she is getting a handful of grain twice a day and hay. The hay she gets is kind of weedy grass with a touch of alfalfa. Thanks in advance. Julie

2. Patty13637

Patty13637 New Member

Alfalfa is not like grain. You can add more faster . I would start her with hmmm 1 pound divided in 2 feedings a day and increase from there . You want to make sure she doesn't get to heavy before kidding that she has problems. My husband is telling me my girls look like meat goats not dairy as they are in good flesh .

make sure she has access to a good mineral also . What type of grain are you feeding ? I am sure the girls who feed just pellets will pipe in and help . I am feeding an alfalfa mix pellet now so I have to be a little more carefull on how I feed it .

Patty

3. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Hi Julie can you please put what kind of goats you have and what area you are in so we can answer your questions, and no who you are:) Ask a mod for help if you can't do it.