AI success rates

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by doodles, Dec 16, 2008.

1. doodles

doodles Member

Can you folks tell me about your AI experiences and what your success rates are. This is my first year and I am having a great time learning. I have AI'd other animals but not goats before. I am sure there is a learning curve but would be interested in comments about tips when you were learning :biggrin

2. Tracy in Idaho

Tracy in Idaho Member

It really took me a few years to get into the swing of it. You just have to do as many of them as you can. I have been 100% the last couple of years.

First thing is to be patient and take the time you need to get into the cervix. Second thing is not to panic if you can't get ALL the way through -- as long as it doesn't come back at you - it's good.
    Third thing is not to AI too early in the cycle -- Jonathan and I go round and round about this ;-) He AIs way earlier than I do. I don't even attempt an breeding until I have seen them in heat 12 hours. And sometimes I wait even later according to mucous.

Tracy

3. ChristinaF.

ChristinaF. Guest

Hi,
    I am interested in this as well. I was told that there is only a 15 minute window in which you can do it. Is this true. Wouldn't the semen stay alive in there a bit longer than that?

Just trying to learn about this too!

Christina

4. Kaye White

Kaye White Guest

:yeahthat
    The only thing that I would add to Tracy's post....
    1. Please become familiar with reproductive tracts. Look at a cervix before the doe comes into heat, so at least you know WHAT to look for, before you get ready to breed. Have a good teacher with a respectable settle rate.
    2. Know your does cycle!! I can't stress this enough...Track their heats. Time in and Time out. Especially in the early fall. Easiest to tell. Later in the year, the cycles are shorter.