Abcesses and CL

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by mamatomany, Aug 28, 2008.

1. mamatomany

mamatomany New Member

I have to say that I am literally shaking in my shoes right now after reading stuff on CL. This doe turned up with an abcess today on her sholder. I can grab it and lift it off of her. It is the size of a gum ball. Exactly 2 weeks ago I gave her a CD&T injection in that site. Should I immeidately take her in teh morning to the vet to have it tested for CL. What am I going to do if it is positive...OMG ....I'm telling you if this is what she has I am giving these does back to the jack_ _ _ who sold them to me, and I will NEVER AGAIN OWN A GOAT. I cannot risk infection to my children OMG I am....aaaahhhhhhh

2. shawhee

shawhee Member

I am no expert here by any means. But I have heard of a lump at the site of injection. Stay calm; it may just be from the cdt shot that you gave her. But I am sure someone with more experience than me will come along and help.

Shawna

3. Secondairy

Secondairy Member

It is not uncommon for goats to develop a cyst at the injection site of CD&T. Bar-Vac and Covexin seem to be the culprit in most cases. I am not saying that you shouldn't have your goat tested just in case it is CL, but since it is at an injection site, the injection itself could have caused the lump. We did our CD&T's in the armpit this year to prevent abscesses from being in the areas most associated with CL. None of them reacted fortunately, however it is easier to explain an injection site abscess in the armpit, than a lump on a portion of the body where CL likes to rear it's ugly head.

Hopefully more will comment on this thread. This is just MPO.

Kelly :)

4. Kaye White

Kaye White Guest

Is the knot at the junction of the neck and shoulder? If it's anywhere but where a lymph gland is...you're dealing with a shot reaction.