A few soap questions

Discussion in 'Soap Making' started by JN, Jun 18, 2014.

1. JN

JN New Member

Good morning . I have a few questions please...

- I recently purchased a Hisense dehumidifier from Lowes. I have it with my soaps in my walk in closet. The lowest humidity level it will go to is 30%. Is that going to be enough to dry my soap more quickly? It is drawing a good amount of water from the air. I'm happy to see that. It does make my closet pretty warm though. Is that normal?

- I have been soaping (cold method) for a few years now with good results. Been selling soap for some time. Happy customers. :) Recently I have noticed my soap turning back to liquid after I have poured it up in my molds. This used to not happen. I haven't changed anything?? What causes this? I made a couple batches this week that did this. The first batch I split and made half a batch of plain milk bars and the other half Oatmeal. After I poured these up I made another batch and split it as well. 1/2 Spearmint Eucalyptus and 1/2 my Kitchen Sink Bars. All of them turned to liquid although the Spearmint Eucalyptus turned to liquid far later than my others? I thought it wasn't going to because the others did so much sooner. Even the Kitchen Sink Bars which were from the same batch. When I cut them I noticed the plain had darker spots inside. The oatmeal didn't and it was from the same batch so I found that strange. I have never had the darker spots before. What causes this and will they go away as the soap cures??

Thanks for any help/advice you can offer. :) Be blessed!

2. Kalne

Kalne New Member