You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of Dairygoatinfo.com    
Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > When to wean?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2013, 09:36 PM   #1
hmcintosh

Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts

Default When to wean?

This is my first year to raising bottle babies and I am thinking of keeping my does. So I am wondering when do you wean, and how do you wean your babies. I am thinking if I am keeping them, the I should go longer than 12 weeks. That would be ok but the milk bill is killing me right now. I will do what it takes to raise healthy goats though, so I will keep right on buying 6 gallons of milk at time if I have to. Just wondering what everyone else does.

Also what about bucks. I am sure everyone does different for their bucks than their does.

Heather McIntosh North Alabama
Raising Nubians
Roll TIde!

www.bigmfarms.weebly.com

Old 03-04-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
dragonlair

Liked 156 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 11

I don't buy store milk, I use goat milk, pasteurized, or the CAE- ones are dam raised. They get milk until they are 4-6 months old because I have the extra milk. Probably would be a lot different if I sold it.

My bucks are treated just like the does. The wethers for meat are kept on mom until they leave for freezer camp.

Sully
DragonLair Farm in Central Maine. Nubian, Lamancha and Oberhasli dairy goats, 3 horses, 10 dogs, 2 cats, 5 Guinea fowl and not sure how many chickens.

Old 03-04-2013, 10:01 PM   #3
doublebowgoats

Liked 348 Times on 247 Posts
Likes Given: 650

I wean earlier than some people, definitely by twelve weeks but they are down to once a day milk by ten weeks. They do just as well as I hear others doing. My does are always plenty big enough to breed by their first fall and no metabolic/growth problems during pregnancy. Sometimes I have to buy milk but usually just use what is available from my does unless I buy a bottle baby.

Michelle
Raising Lamancha Dairy goats in