Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > New here... how soon to drink milk?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2010, 10:24 PM   #1
kaymiller2

Default New here... how soon to drink milk?

My Alpine just kidded on 5/18. She has 2 bucks. I am wondering how soon I can drink her milk? I've heard from 3 days to 4 weeks! Is the colostrum unsafe? or is it purely a matter of taste? just wondering...

Also, The one side was 'way full, I never see the kids sucking from it, so I milked it out (looked uncomfortable!) and got nearly 1 quart from it. (3 days after freshening) I noticed some dried blood/goo from birthing on it (the teat) the day after she kidded, could that have made the kids avoid it? or what? When I milked it, there was no stringy/lumpy/bloody stuff at all. Temp seems normal...

Kay Schrock
Wyoming
One purebred Alpine doe, and her 2 buck kids, born 5/18/2010

Old 05-22-2010, 10:30 PM   #2
faithfarm

Default Re: New here... how soon to drink milk?

I am new to this group as well but not new to goats.

It really depends on the goat. I have been told that colostrum is only in the milk a few days after kidding but we have one Nigerian doe who's milk tastes something awful for the first 4 weeks, after that it is like drinking sweet cream!

Now on the other hand we have a La Mancha whose milk tastes "normal" after only a few days, so like I said it just depends on the goat. Colostrum is actually highly nutritious it just tastes terrible!

Blessings,
Hope

Hope Presley-Weakland

Faith Farm Miniature Dairy Goats
Milton, FL

Old 05-22-2010, 10:33 PM   #3
kaymiller2

Thanks! After waiting for 5 months for some milk, its really hard to wait any longer to at least try the milk!

Kay Schrock
Wyoming

Old 05-23-2010, 12:41 AM   #4
buckrun

Liked 226 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 149