Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > New to goats in north Mississippi

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2008, 02:41 PM   #1
Amanda Lee

Liked 17 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default New to goats in north Mississippi

Hello to All, I am Amanda Lee, and I am brand new to the world of dairy goats. I own, raise, show and train AQHA quater horses. I am a mama to three year old twins, a boy and a girl. Yes, I do have my hands full with my two.
What has brought me to this forum is my sweet boy, Prim. He has developmental delays with Autistic tendencies caused by food allergies / sensitivities. Cow's milk being one of them, so our DAN (Deafeat Autism Now) doctor suggested trying goat milk and goat milk products. That was this past April.
So I go to the local Wal Mart supercenter and look for goat milk... all I could find was the Meyenberg 1 quart at $3.40. I am like shoooweee that is high! I am driving home thinking I have just paid $16.00 for a gallon of goat milk...there must be a better way.

I started asking around to different folks in my area if anyone raised dairy goats....no luck there, Oh by the way I am in Calhoun City, Mississippi. I started looking in our state farm market bulliten for dairy goats near us and found a lady in Starkville, Ms that had 2 Nubian wethers for sale. I called her. She was so helpful! She gave me the name of another lady near Starkville who had a herd of dairy goats and sold milk to the public. So I have been purchasing my milk form this lady but she is not selling any of her goats right now. Her goats look very well taken care of and healthy. Starkville is an hour drive one way from my home and my children are attending a special pre-school program at Starkville on the Mississippi State Campus. I am in Starkville, 3 days aweek so buying milk is no trouble. BUT by next summer we wil not be driving down here, so I was thinking of purchasing in the spring '09 at least 1 does that will freshen.