Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > horn removal

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2009, 11:52 PM   #1
whipporwill farmstead

Default horn removal

Question--we recently bought back a nubian doe that we had sold as a baby, one I didn't want to sell. The man we sold her to tried to remove her horns himself. One was successful and the other not so successful. My question is, what is a safe way to remove the other horn? To me removal of horns is a personal preference, but we would prefer both off or both on. Any suggestions?

Paul
Whipporwill Farmstead

Paul

Nubians and Alpines

Old 08-22-2009, 12:42 AM   #2
stoneyheightsfarm

Default Re: horn removal

Paul, please put your location in your signature line or under your avatar--that will help.

Various methods... banding them--I have no experience w/that, but some here do. Believe it's most successful w/in the first year, and the head won't be smooth, but won't grow.

If it's a large scur, and not a real horn, per se, you can cut it (wire saw, or even sterilized nippers, depending on its size), and cauterize bleeding tissue w/a disbudding iron. It may continue to grow, however, and would have to be repeated. Wouldn't cut too much off at once, just b/c of the bleeding issue.

Surgical removal-- TX A&M does a procedure where they close the hole w/skin. Other vets would cut a hole through the skull, removing horn & skull tissue, and not close it over w/skin. (unless maybe you could get them to consult w/A&M and try a new-to-them procedure?) This leaves a hole right down into the sinus cavity. I had it done on both of my bucks, and it's pretty ugly until it heals. Like any open wound, there is danger of infection, and you don't want to do it during fly season. Maggots-yuk.

I'm a big wuss about disbudding even, and an older animal is just no fun at all to inflict pain upon, so I like vet methods, because 1. they involve sedation, and 2. I don't have to be the bad guy!

Billie Hallman