Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > Hard, lumpy udder

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2009, 09:11 PM   #1
Sandy Henderson

Default Hard, lumpy udder

I am new to raising goats. We have 4 Nubians (2 does, 1 buck, 1 weather) ranging from 6-10 months. A few weeks ago I was running my hand over the 10 month old doe's udder and noticed that her udder was hard and lumpy. I have been keeping an eye on it and there has been no change. She is sleek, pretty, eating well and looks to be the picture of health. I have called the vet and am waiting for a return call. I know that this is a symptom of CAE and will be getting her tested soon.

My questions: Has anyone experienced this before with the result not being CAE positive? Is there anything I should be doing in the meantime? At what point does the udder start increasing in size and how big should it be at her age?

(Note - The other doe has just turned 6 months and she has nothing forming at this point.)

Old 08-05-2009, 09:16 PM   #2
icboers

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Re: Hard, lumpy udder

If she is not bred she won't make an udder unless she is one of those precocious does that happens to make a bag before they are bred. It could be mastitis, even if she isn't being milked.

As for treatment, maybe someone else can be of help. the treatment that i use for my Boers has been frowned upon by dairy folks.

Karla

Karla Smith
Indian Creek Boers
Blue Ridge, TX
icboers@hotmail.com
www.indiancreekboer.com

Old 08-05-2009, 11:32 PM   #3
Sondra

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Is she bred? Have you taken a temperature on her compared to your other doe? At this point I wouldn't do anything if she isn't bred but have her tested for CAE

Sondra Peterson
A2Z Dairy Goats
Nubian/LaMancha/Mini Mancha
Azle, TX
a2zdairygoats@yahoo.com
www.freewebs.com/mldga

Old 08-06-2009, 01:58 AM   #4
whimmididdle