Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > goats eating Christmas trees??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2011, 02:00 AM   #1
mathewsfive

Default goats eating Christmas trees??

:/ Ok... so I knew they loved fall pumpkins, but I was just on facebook and read a post about there goats get tons of Christmas trees to eat after Christmas... As I am still new to dairy goats I am a little scared to feed them new things unless I am sure it is not going to mess with the flavor of the milk. What else can my girls munch??

Jarrod and Jessica
Asher, Oklahoma
Mathewshills
4 nubian milkers 2doelings and 2 bucklings, 1 jersey calf, 1 donkey, 1 horse, 3 ducks, and 1 great dog,
and will have chickens again once my husband
builds the coop at our new place.

Old 01-05-2011, 02:12 AM   #2
abtowell

Default Re: goats eating Christmas trees??

It may just me but last year we had a horrible incident with a Christmas tree. We gave it to them to eat. They loved it. In fact they loved it so much there was a bit of a fight. One doe jumped over it and cut her bag, just a little, we thought It was no big deal a few days later it turned into a staph infection. I have since vaccinated my herd againist staph but still was to wary to put in the tree despite their longing looks at it. Not sure if that helps, but wanted to mention it.

Alysha
homeschooling mom to 7, 2 are 4-Her's so also to
several Nubians, not counting them is good so we can tell Daddy we aren't sure how many we have,at least that is our theory
www.midsummernightscaprines.com

Old 01-05-2011, 02:30 AM   #3
supermom

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

One time we fed pine needles to our doe and it changed the flavor of the milk very definitely. Others have said their does get pine needles all the time and it doesn't affect their flavor. I'm not sure if they are used to that flavor or it didn't come through in their milk, but our milk tasted .....like pine ;o).

Monica
Blessed Fields Dairy Goats
Boyd, TX