Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > Goat foaming at the mouth

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2012, 03:04 AM   #1
Jolie_4

Default Goat foaming at the mouth

I'm new to this and new to owning goats. I got two baby Nigerian dwarfs on Saturday, last week and they are about 10 weeks old. I noticed that one of them, the smaller of the two had a way larger stomach than the other but being that I was getting them from an old time farmer who has had goats for years and years, I didn't think much of it. Figured if something was wrong or odd about them he would know.
So anyway I've been feeding the goats orchard grass hay, mineral and also oats although they are eating very little of the outs as in I put in a 1/4 of a cup 3x in a week and they haven't finished the last bit of it. Anyway after having them for about 6 days I went out to feed them and noticed that one of them, the smaller had a little foam coming out of his mouth. Then when I got home from work the other one did too but they are acting fine, eating, running around, etc. The next day I checked on them several times and nothing but then the next day, which is today, I noticed the smaller one had a little bit of foam again. I called my friend who is a vet tech and she came over to look at them. She listened to their heart rate, checked their gums, took their temp, etc. And basically she said the same thing, that the one looked kinda fat (bloated) and his stomach was a little hard so she called the vet and he didn't seem to concerned since they were still running around and eating. He just said to remove the alfalfa and get them a bloat block. Anyone else have any other ideas or had this happen?

Michelle
Oregon
Nigerian Dwarf babies

Old 01-09-2012, 03:17 AM   #2
swgoats

Liked 352 Times on 238 Posts
Likes Given: 486

Default Re: Goat foaming at the mouth