Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > Draxxin

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2009, 04:00 PM   #1
goatgal36

Default Draxxin

Hello everyone,
I have been reading the posts (which are VERY useful) and this is my first time posting. I apologize if I missed a post that talked about this already.
Has anyone had experience with Draxxen (spelling?)? My vet is starting to use it more and more with the older goats if they have something with upper resp. since she feels that Nuflor and Penicillin are not working around here anymore. She has not used it in kids yet. I was wondering if anyone has been using this prescription drug and at what doses.

Thank you for your time!!!!!!

Enter breeds of goats raised and real name HERE

Old 05-03-2009, 05:18 PM   #2
ldoran

Default Re: Draxxen

Are you sure it wasn't Naxel?

It's a newer sub-q (or IM or IV) antibiotic that's broad-spectrum so I give it to her at night, then some ProBios in the morning to regenerate the good bugs in her gut that were killed overnight by the antibiotic.

- Lisa Doran
Marybelle Farm
McDade, Texas

Happy wife of adoring husband Jason; doting mom of two Nubian does, 3 dogs, 2 cats, 2 horses, and 7 chickens.

Completely new to the caprine world.

Old 05-03-2009, 06:43 PM   #3
Theresa

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Hi, welcome to the forum.

I googled it. It looks like Draxxin is used for respitory infections in pigs as well as cattle. I have not used it or even heard of it until now. Here is what I found.

DRAXXIN, tulathromycin, is the first entry of a novel macrolide subclass, the triamilides, developed by Pfizer Animal Health. DRAXXIN is now the first-line product-of-choice to treat pneumonia, offering both superior disease treatment as well as outstanding efficacy for the control of pneumonia in cattle at high risk of developing the disease.