You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of Dairygoatinfo.com    
Dairy Goat Info Forum > General Category > Dairy Goat Info > Bottle Feeding- Nipples

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2011, 10:21 PM   #1
KozaGirl

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via MSN to KozaGirl
Default Bottle Feeding- Nipples

I know this is horrible, but I am still very new at this and learning LOTS day by day!! We had regular human bottles on hand when our new babies came home with us this past Monday, so that is what we used for one day. I picked up a couple of the black lamb/goat nipples the next day, and we put those over a soda bottle. Today I picked up a couple of Pritchards and I am disgusted- not sure if at the nipples, or at myself!! We switched from the human nipples because they seemed to slip out of their mouth a lot. Then the black ones just seemed too big for their mouth, which is why I bought the Pritchards today. BUT THEY LEAK EVERYWHERE!!! If I can get my DH (6'6" 300 lbs) to screw the caps down really tight, they won't leak around the cap, but then still leak around the nipple, under the rim of the plastic thingie... both nipples do the exact same thing. I am frustrated with having to switch around on them, and I am tired of smelling like spoiled milk at the end of every day!!! Can someone please shed some light on this for me? (the babies are nubians and were born on this past Sunday)

Diana
Missouri
Nubians for Milk

Old 02-18-2011, 11:14 PM   #2
Caprine Beings

Liked 193 Times on 118 Posts
Likes Given: 173

Default Re: Bottle Feeding- Nipples

I have had extremely good luck using lambar nipples. They are grey and pop onto a pop bottle as well. I put a hole in the base of the pop bottle nipples to allow for air. When they are transitioned to the lambar it doesn't take long and they are eating away.
Tam

Lindsey and Tammy Long
Alpines, Nigerian Dwarf, and Nubians
E-mail: caprinebeings@live.com
Facebook page: Caprine Beings Dairy Goats